More Than Words


DSCF0068

 

 

Hey there folks!

 

I have mentioned that my father was great for those random dad quotes of wisdom as I was growing up and one of those lessons has really been on my mind as of late. “Actions speak louder than words”, he would constantly say. It was another of those mantras that I heard so often that hearing the phrase made my skin crawl, but the idea stuck with me which I guess was the point.

 

We would sit down to dinner and I would go to compliment my mother on the meal and Dad would be right there. “If you want to really let your mother know that you appreciate the meal she cooked than shut up and eat it.” I cannot even count the number of times I was yelled at for something and would try to defend myself, “but I didn’t say that Dad!”. Only to hear, “you didn’t need to say anything your actions told me all I need to know”. As infuriating as those exchanges  could be the principle behind them has been something I have carried with me.

 

I have spent a considerable amount of time turning that judgmental idea upon the world around me to criticize things that angered or hurt me. However, as of late I have been trying to turn that gaze upon myself and that is by no means an easy thing to do. I have always been an opinionated person, even when I have not felt like sharing those opinions with others. Which is to say I have strong beliefs about the morals, ethics, and practices by which one should live.

 

Recently I have described this as listening to my inner six year old. As a kid I knew what you were supposed to do even when I didn’t do it, but as I have grown older I have rationalized that voice in my head into a corner. To be honest I am getting sick and tired of rationalizing. This is why I quit smoking, an act I hated as a child. It is also why I am more conscious of what I am eating and have been going to the gym regularly for the last month. Taking care of myself is important and I have rationalized not doing so for too long.

 

Another way in which I try to incorporate this idea into my life has to do with my desire for sincerity. Anyone who knows me knows that I do not speak idly, which is to say that more often than not when I speak it is with a purpose. This applies to all communication in my mind, so whether it be on this blog or on social media if I say it there is a reason. These are things I believe and words by which I live and hold myself accountable towards. Life is short I have no time for hollow slogans and empty proselytizing.

 

This is not to say that actions are a barometer of truth. In fact, an intelligent liar will deceive with actions as readily as with words.

 

I only bring this topic up to accentuate the importance of being mindful in thought and action. Life should not be a reactionary endeavor, but rather an active and purposeful engagement.

 

Can you live up to the measure by which you judge those around you?

Leave a Reply

