Work to Live


beach

 

Hey there folks!

When you are younger, or at least when I was younger, I spent a lot of time wondering what I was going to be when I grew up. In the beginning I wanted to be a baseball player and every time someone told me how hard it was I told them I didn’t care. Eventually I grew and changed and my dreams of playing baseball faded, and slowly but surely I got tired of answering the question.

I was so eager to learn that it seemed like every other month I found out about something new that I thought would be a great thing to do. Eventually I wanted to be so many things that I could not keep track of them all, but people kept asking me what I wanted to be. Well, I was a smart ass even as a child so I started telling them I wanted to be Asian when I grew up. I knew it was not possible to change one’s racial identity, but I loved watching people’s reactions as they tried to read my dead pan expression and wondered if I was mentally challenged.

You see I grew up in an environment where I watched people work jobs they hated to try and keep a roof over their head, clothes on their back, and food in their belly. In this environment I learned that you did what you had to do to survive, nothing in life was free you had to work for things. Life became about those times when you could get together with your loved ones, friends and family, enjoy each others company and what few moments of peace you could muster. So, as I grew older my attention never fixed on one particular career because I knew I was not going to be defines by what I did to make money.

I have come to understand that this idea sets me apart from some people. I remember having an argument with my ex fiancé because she thought I was ambitionless. In one conversation or another she asked me what I wanted to do with my life and I told her that I loved her and what was important to me was her and I being together. One way or another I would make the money I needed to make to live, my job was never going to be the source of my satisfaction. I am not saying that one cannot or should not find satisfaction from their career, only that I knew I was not cut from that cloth.

So not too long ago when I was asked what the most important thing I was looking for in my job search was my reply was simple. What I do is far less concerning to me than where I am doing it and whom I am doing it for. The best jobs I have ever had have been more about the people, the environment, and the experience than the work it self. Luckily I see to have found exactly what I was looking for. I work for a company that cares about its employees and with people who are generally pleasant to be around. The work itself is boring as piss. I help people who are having problems with software designed to aid property managers and accountants, but that doesn’t matter to me.

My focus is on being the best version of myself that I possibly can be and living the kind of life I know in my heart I am meant for. While my income is important it is not the keystone of my happiness. I don’t know about anyone else but I work to live, I will never live to work.

Leave a Reply

