Hey Man, Have You Got Some Change?


the-human-impact-on-nature

Hey there folks!

 

I was sitting back and looking over the some of the things I have been writing on my blog here, mainly to avoid talking about the same things, and I realized that I spend a lot of time talking about change. I mean it makes sense, change is a very big part of my life for many reasons that I have spoken of at length. However, as I reflected on change I started thinking about how difficult the process actually is to perform, especially the older we get.

 

Right now I am in my mid thirties and some of the things I am trying to change about myself are habits that I have had since I was in high school. What makes the change so difficult is the fact that until the new behavior becomes a habit you have to remain very vigilant because it is so easy to fall back in to comfortable patterns without even thinking about what you are doing. You could be good for weeks but then one day you get stressed out and without thinking about what you are doing you go right back to the old behavior and now you are right back where you started.

 

The truth of the matter is that no matter what it is you are trying to change about yourself you are going to stumble a few times like described above. That is why you have to really want to change, so that every time you get knocked down or doubt yourself you can keep moving forward.

 

Success is not an instantaneous thing, more often than not success is achieved through determination and persistence. This is why people always tell you that patience is a virtue. You can scoff at the idea all you want but all expecting immediate results is ever truly going get you is a great deal of frustration and potentially an ulcer. The catch 22 of the situation is that every time you do not immediately get what you want you get frustrated which makes it harder for you to focus and more likely that you are going to fail the next time.

 

I understand that it is hard sometimes to give everything their space and due time. I remember when I was in college getting frustrated with how things were going. All in all it took me 5 years to get my bachelors degree as I tried to balance going to school and working as much as possible so I could keep paying bills. In the middle of all of that mess I started to get upset because I didn’t feel like I was accomplishing anything. I expressed this to a friend of mine at the time and he looked at me like I was dumb. He said, “dude, you are in the middle of it right now, things are still moving forward and you are going to get your degree you just have to calm down and keep doing the damn thing”.

 

So the next time you are trying to change something for or about yourself and you start to get frustrated for whatever reason step back and ask yourself this question. Do I really want this, and more importantly am I willing to put in the work necessary to make this happen? If the answer is no then just pack your bags and move on to greener pastures. All you are doing is spinning your wheels right now and wasting time. However, if the answer is yes then take a deep breath summon forth your energies and get back to the damn thing. If necessary find a way to blow off some steam, but don’t allow a momentary set back stop you from achieving what you set out to do.

Leave a Reply

