The Commercial Effect


TV

Hey there folks!

 

I know that a lot of what I have been writing about, especially in the last few days has been kind of heavy, so today I wanted to try and lighten the mood a bit. Today I want to talk about commercials, partially because it is fun to vent, but also because I am curious if I am the only one that feels this way.

 

To be honest I do not watch nearly as much TV as I used to, although commercials have invaded many forms of online media such as YouTube and Twitch. However, for as long as I can remember commercials have had an effect on me.

 

Sometimes the effect is probably what is intended; for example, a few months ago I was seeing Red Lobster commercials everywhere I looked so one Saturday I called my cousin I said get ready because we are about to go to lunch. The bug bite me so to speak and the only way to get it off of my mind was to go eat there. Yet, this is not the effect I really want to discuss.

 

Far more common an activity for me is to decide what companies I refuse to do business with based on their advertising campaigns. The logic behind this is simple, the company most likely thought this crappy commercial I am watching was a good idea; therefore, their judgment cannot be trusted. Hence, I cannot trust that they made good decisions in the creation of their product or service and they do not deserve my hard earned money.

 

Allow me to provide a few examples of what I mean. GEICO is a company with which I will never do business based solely on their commercials. When was the last time you saw a GEICO car insurance commercial that had anything to do with cars or insurance? I know I haven’t seen one. They all focus on the damn lizard walking around talking about saving money. This is all good but makes me wonder why they are trying to keep my mind off of cars in a car insurance commercial. What exactly are they hiding?

 

Another one that has been driving me crazy lately is Direct TV. I live in an apartment building and can only have cable because satellites are a no go. So for the last few months I have had to watch Direct TV go on a campaign of talking shit about me as a cable customer, saying I am socially awkward and I make bad decisions among other things. First, why are they paying close enough attention to me to know that I am socially awkward and make bad decisions? Seriously quit stalking me Direct TV. Finally, why the hell do I want to do business with a company that is flat out insulting me? If you are going take that route be direct about it and just own that position. If you don’t buy our product you’re an idiot! At least then I will have an inkling of respect for you being ballsy enough to do that.

 

In the end I am just trying to have some fun, but what do you think? Are there any companies you have a quirky kind of problem with? Or just a commercial that drives you crazy? I would love to hear about it in the comments below.

3 thoughts on “The Commercial Effect

  1. I can understand the irritation with gieco and directv, but this is one of those “ends justify the means” sort of things, from their point of view (I’m guessing). The goal is for you to remember the commercial, remember product, and most importantly, remember their name. Sometimes that means funny commericals like the short “Well did YOU that. . . ” fill in the blank gieco ads. I find most of those amusing and the Iggy Woods and Taz ones are hilarious. Another campaign of commercials that always makes me remember them is Old Spice and that’s just because they are hilariously bizarre “Look at your man, now back to me . . . I’m on a horse” Frankly, the only commericals that need to actually show you a products are the ones that have not been around for generations and/or have a constant stream of new products (cell phones come to mind).

    What pisses me off is the commercials in the streaming media. Not that they’re there, but that the online television especially tends to air the same damn commercails every single break and time warner’s live tv app is really bad about just playing the EXACT same commercial 3 times in a row in one break. THAT’S fucking stupid and I hate THAT with a passion.

    As to your Red Lobster comment, I rarely ever have a commercial influence my decision to go/do/purchase/sign up for anything. Honestly can’t think of any right now. I’m much more swayed by reviews friends on facebook put up because I know them and I know they’re not being paid to tell me about an awesome or not awesome product or service.

    My 2 cents…

    Like

  2. Oh, forgot to finish my initial thought: sometimes funny commercials make you remember the company, and sometimes stupid or insulting ones do. The only commercial that truly fails is the one that fails to make you remember the company. So, love them or hate them, geico and directv have effective ads, at least in that one regard. My question would be that if they suddenly had commercials that you approved of, and you were allowed to have a dish, would your mind change or have they lost you as a customer for life? In that case, they win/lose at the commericial game and might actually want to rethink their approach.

    Like

Leave a Reply

