The Inner Struggle


smiley-silhouette

Hey there folks!

 

In recent years I have become an avid consumer of YouTube content. It started out with let’s plays of video games I enjoyed, but now covers so much unique and amazing content. One of the YouTube personalities I have come to really enjoy is Prince Ea. I do not know if you have had a chance to see any of his content but it is simply amazing. I have never found a speaker of any kind that seemed to be speaking the thoughts in my head better than he does.

 

Anyway, Prince Ea put out a new video today about depression https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1GLhiZEa9f8. Once again I think his advice on the issue is spot on but it inspired me to share some thing I have learned about depression through out the years.

 

I have always been a person that people feel safe confiding in and I very much enjoy being that person. As such, I have dealt with depression often, in myself and in friends and loved ones. Many years ago a friend of mine introduced me to the idea that happiness is a choice. Over the years I have found this idea expressed in a number of ways and it is something I still very much believe.

 

Naturally, I offer this advice often to people when speaking about depression and how to deal with negative emotions. Unfortunately this advice can come across as if happiness is a switch that can be flipped and as anyone who has been depressed, which is just about everyone, knows it is not that easy. While happiness is definitely not a switch to be flipped, the realization that happiness is a choice is a eureka moment. I mean when you really internalize the idea you look at depression differently and you do feel like it is easier than you had built it up in your head to be.

 

Like the video says depression is deceiving because it makes you feel helpless and trapped. Internalizing the idea that happiness is a choice breaks you out of the trap and makes you realize it was a lie all along. Just like with anything else in life that feels easy, you begin to over simplify the process.

 

The truth of the matter is that choosing to be happy is a daily struggle. Some days you win and some days you lose. The point is that you wake up everyday and you make the choice anew. Just because you are able to do this does not mean that depression goes away. You will still have bad days and be attacked by all of the familiar feelings of depression, but the next day you start over again and instead of taking what you have for granted you take stock of the blessings you have.

 

The point of all of this is that the struggle of depression is real and should not be trivialized; however, you are the only one who can pull yourself out of depression. Doctors, friends, family, and even medication can help but at the end of the day it has to be you that makes the change because the struggle is yours. Just remember that you are not alone and like everything else in this life, this to shall pass.

Leave a Reply

