Balance in All Things (Including Balance)


happy-buddha

Hey there folks! The one and only Jason is back at it again.

 

Today I want to take a trip down memory lane. If my writing have not made it clear enough I am a man of a philosophical demeanor and this has been true of me for as long as I can remember. For example, I remember spending a Saturday afternoon at a friend’s house when I was 13 and we sat and argued about whether or not we existed. While I am quite sure that our arguments lacked the intellectual sophistication that the topic was due, but never the less I knew even then that my desire to have such discussions set me apart for many other people.

 

Fast forward several years, my intellectual curiosities grow deeper and I find myself relocated from Northeast Ohio to Central North Carolina. Changing from northern urban life to southern country life was a culture shock to say the least. Towards the end of my high school tenure I met an individual that was of a similar disposition to myself in many ways and we took to each other rather well. Through him I found a new group of people to enjoy table top role playing games with. He also introduced me to the broad array of metal music, but more importantly I had someone to have my deep conversations with. Admittedly our conversations bordered on the absurd many time, particularly when sleep deprivation was an issue.

jin-jang

 

The title of today’s discussion came from one of our conversations. My friend always had a proclivity for ancient Greece hence the devotion towards balance in spite of balance. This has very much become a great example of one of the ideas I believe today that was introduced to me by someone else, which is why I so love having these intellectual conversations whenever the chance arises.

 

My experiences have taught me that there is no hard and fast rule that works every time. It may work most of the time but there is always that one exception. While it is easy to see life in black and white the reality of things is far more muddled. Hence, I believe in taking a balanced approach to all situations so as to find the best possible outcome.

 

However, I believe in the importance of balance overall as opposed to balance right now. This is to say that at the end of days I want to look back at my life and see balance in my actions rather than see a rigid adherence to the middle path. So sometimes I abstain, other times I over indulge, but the majority of the time I am somewhere in between.

 

The only way to truly experience life is to embrace the moments with which you are presented, but the only way to understand life is to be able to return to the center so as process your experience.

 

This is an absolutely fundamental belief of mine and often times it makes me come across as contentious. If you are nervous about a course of action I am going to encourage you to pursue it. If you are confident in your path I am going to argue for restraint. None of this is done merely for the sake of creating an argument, rather it is meant to help bring your mind to the center of the issue so you can make the best decision for yourself.

infinity-sign

What do you think? As I said before I always welcome good discussion, just one of those things that make me the one and only Jason.

2 thoughts on “Balance in All Things (Including Balance)

  1. I really love the paragraph, “The only way to experience life…” I believe I too can see the big picture in that life balances itself out. But when its not… I feel myself getting anxious. I crave that balance. Perhaps like you I should embrace the imbalances more rather than living on a more “rigid” path. I never really thought of it that way. Interesting… 😊

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words. I am glad I could shine a light on a new way to approach things, that is what this is all about for me and is why I love discussion because sometimes all you need is a fresh set of eyes, so to speak.

      Like

Leave a Reply

