State of the Jason ’11


Well another year has come and passed for me, or as my brother would like to say I have survived another trip around the sun. For those of you who may not have caught on yet my birthday has come and passed again. So in the spirit of the tradition I started a few years ago I am back to give another State of the Jason report for all those who care to read.

I am now 31 years old although to look at the state my life is currently in one may not realize I am quite so old. I still live with my family, which consists of my mother, her boyfriend, my brother, his girlfriend, and my nephew. If I said I did not have any anxieties about my living situation I would be lying, but in the end I am here for economic reasons as much as I am here because I have no desire to live alone.

Unlike most of my friends and peers I am single and have no children. As those of you who actually read my blog and/or know me already know my last relationship has come to final and complete end. The weird thing about that is that I am upset at all, if anything I am relieved that it is over. It was fun while it lasted and I think I am a better person for it, but more importantly I know I am better off walking my own path at this point.

The best thing to happen to me recently is the promotion I received at work a little over a month ago. I am now the Restaurant General Manager of my local Pizza Hut. However, this is kind of a mixed blessing. The primary motivation for me going to college was to get out of the pizza business, but unfortunately the job market upon leaving college was not terribly kind so I ended up right back where I began. Luckily enough though I have climbed the ranks to a salary position that covers my financial needs at the moment and offers me a reasonable sense of job security, both of which are things I am truly grateful for given the current state of things in this country.

More importantly, despite the fact that life threw me a curveball, I am at peace with who I am and where I am at. Although at 31 I am starting to feel age creep up on me I am by no means dead yet. I still have plenty of time to make the moves to build the life I want to live. I could look at everything I have just mentioned and see it shadowed in negative connotations, but why should I? The truth is I have a pretty damn good life. I do not want for any of my necessities and am surrounded by people who love me. And while I may not be able to enjoy all the finer things in life I am in a position to indulge my inner hedonist every so often.

So all in all I am doing pretty damn well for myself at the moment, and even better I am in position to make things even better. Who knows this time next year I may be talking to you about the novel I know I have within me.

Regardless, no matter where this crazy life takes me here is to all those I have loved and who have come with me on any part of this journey. If not for you all I would not be the man I am today, so cheers! Here is to another trip around the sun.

Leave a Reply

