Tips From Middle-Management


Well it has been awhile since I have written anything, as I have been doing a terrible job of keeping up with this blog. So in yet another attempt to get myself going on this here is another bit of advice from the One and Only Jason.

So as some of you know I am currently working as a manager of a local pizza joint. This is not a particularly new job to me as I have managed other pizza places. In fact, for the better part of the last ten years no matter where I am working it is in a management level position. During my time as a manager I have seen many things: angry customers, disgruntled employees, and frustrated bosses.

Thus, it is with this relative level of expertise that I give you a list of tips to help you survive in the work place from your boss in middle management.

1)      Open your eyes!

I would say that nearly 85% of all the problems I see arise in the workplaces I have been lucky enough to be a part of arise from people like you and I not paying attention. It is not that we do not know how to do our jobs, after all most jobs are mind numbingly redundant and simple, we just lose focus. Any number of things distract us from the task at hand and that is when mistakes happen. More often than not everything we needed was right in front of us the whole time we were just too distracted to take notice. So for the love of all that is holy and pure just pay attention to what you are doing. Whatever problems you have outside of work are not going to get fixed while you are working, and making senseless mistakes at work is only going to create new problems for you to deal with.

2)      Take some pride in what you do!

The truth of the matter is that most people are not working in fields that comprise their life’s passion. I know I certainly did not grow up dreaming of managing a pizza restaurant. Doing things in a lethargic half assed manner only pisses off your boss and makes you look like a worthless jackass. I know you think you are too cool to mop a floor, because everyone thinks that about themselves. However, if you do things in a timely and efficient manner not only do you look better, but your bosses are happier and everything runs smoother, which makes the spent at your crappy job that much better.

3)      You cannot win an argument with a customer!

Granted this rule really only applies to service industry jobs but since that is the largest portion of the job market these days I felt it was relevant. I am not going to try to say that the customer is always right, because it just isn’t true. Most angry customers just want to be heard, so listen to them and don’t take what they are saying personally. The minute that your conversation with an angry customer turns into an argument you have just lost. Not only have you potentially driven away this one customer from your store but chances are they will tell their friends to avoid your store as well. Also, any other customers who happened to witness the argument now have a bad taste in their mouth about your store as well. On top of all of this the customer in question will likely file a formal complaint about you now, which will bring your bosses down on your head. I hope that proving one customer to be stupid was worth the headache that you have now created for yourself.

4)      Don’t shit where you sleep!

This statement is specifically in reference to workplace romances for those of you who did not pick up on it. I understand how easy it is to catch feelings for someone you work with. You spend a lot of time in close quarters with these folks, things can happen. I know it is cliché to talk about this, but 99 out of 100 times workplace romance is gonna blow up in your face, because you spend a lot of time in close quarters with these people. Not only will you become the gossip of the store as the details of your personal life get passed around like a joint between your co-workers, but the relationship will inevitably end making working next to said person awkward to say the least. I have seen people lose their jobs, get transferred to new locations, and one time even had a fight break out in the kitchen in the middle of a Friday night dinner rush all because of workplace romance. In the end no matter how enticing the strange might be it is almost never worth the risk.

I hope you enjoyed my tips to surviving the workplace, and as always feel free to leave me some comments and let me know what you think.

One thought on “Tips From Middle-Management

  1. : )

    As always you find a way to articulate what others cannot. I think I shall print this off and take it to work with me! : )

    Thanks for sharing! I have missed you!

    : )

    Like

Leave a Reply

