Use Your Head


So… it has been way too long since last I wrote something for this blog of mine. Unfortunately life and work have gotten in the way recently, but I am here to correct that now. For those that care you have my deepest apologies for the lapse, and I will do my best to stay on top of things going forward. So without further ado here are some of my most recent thoughts.

 

 

Growing up as a child my father always seemed to have a little saying for nearly every situation. Just little bits of home-spun wisdom that he would bring up whenever he was trying to teach my brother or myself a lesson. In fact, he seemed to have so many of them that at times I wondered if he had a book with all of this stuff written down in it somewhere. But, as I got older I realized there was no book, my father, like many other parents, just had a head full of random sayings that he had learned throughout his life.

One of his favorite sayings was, “use your head for something other than a hat rack”. Whenever he said this it usually meant that I was not thinking the situation through and the answer was right in front of me.

Throughout the years these words have resonated inside of my head, and as I have grown into the man my parents wished me to become I have come to internalize the little lessons such as this one, which is almost certainly what my father had been counting on all those years ago. However, this particular lesson about using my head has stuck with me to a greater degree than many of the others he taught me. So much so that I now find myself wanting to say these words to people as they bring problems to me and seek my counsel. As much as I enjoy being able to help those around me, particularly those that I care for I can’t help but think that many of them could benefit from these simple words, “use your head for something other than a hat rack”.

You see, in the course of our daily lives it is easy if not inevitable to get swept up into a routine. When this happens we tend to take things for granted and assume that things will continue to repeat themselves in their familiar pattern. As events play out and fulfill this expectation our routine strengthens, and eventually the routine becomes so ingrained that we allow ourselves to get distracted by other things while performing the same old tasks and our mind is no longer focused on what is right in front of us.

Then one day something changes just enough to disrupt the routine and we are left dumb founded. Our minds were so distracted by other things that we forgot to pay attention to what was right in front of us the entire time.

You see the problem is that nothing in this life is guaranteed, and although a situation may appear the same after a cursory glance there can be subtle differences that take a more concentrated view to notice. At these moments in life we have two choices:

1)      We can allow ourselves to be victimized by our own failed perceptions.

2)      We take a moment to examine each event as the unique occurrence that it is and act accordingly.

Now obviously this approach is not always applicable and will not prevent all mental miss-steps, but you would be surprised how much easier things can really be if you just stop and use your brain for a minute to try and understand what is around you. So the next time you catch yourself day dreaming in the middle of the daily routine remember, use your head for something other than a hat rack. Just another piece of advice from the one and only Jason.

4 thoughts on “Use Your Head

Leave a Reply

